Canada’s Federal Skilled Worker Program Now On Its Last Quarter

For so many years, the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) in Canada has brought thousands of immigrants to the country, most of whom are now successfully living a life in Canada with a stable job, and many of whom were able to petition and sponsor their family to come live with them.

This month, though, marks the beginning of the program’s last quarter as Canada immigration is set to transition into a new program come year 2015.

The immigration system in the country will undergo an overhaul, which means those who feel they have a chance at being approved for immigration right now may not get that chance again once the new program is introduced.

Therefore, it is of utmost importance for all those who are considering to apply for immigration to start their application now while the rules in place are still the same.

An Overview of the Federal Skilled Worker Program

The FSWP is aimed at immigration prospects who have the skills needed by the country and have what it takes to establish and succeed in Canada.

Under the program, there are top 50 occupations determined based on demand, and the program accepts individuals with experience in the said occupations.

The country is looking at processing around 25,000 applicants, with a maximum of 1000 applicants per occupation in the list.

immigration canada airportFor applicants to qualify, they should have at least one year of experience during the past 10 years in their occupation of choice.

Those who think they are qualified should immediately undergo a credential assessment and a language test so that they can still apply before the program closes.

It is very important to note that while the deadline is looming, the slots in each occupation are also slowly being filled and the cap in some occupations is almost reached.

Time is really of the essence here. This is especially because it is still vague what the new rules in place will be once the new program, Express Entry Program, is established.

An Overview of the New Express Entry Program

As of now, we know only a few details about the Express Entry program.

Under the program, individuals can express interest to apply to any of the four different economic immigrations in Canada: the Federal Skilled Worker Program, the Federal Skilled Trades Program, the Canadian Experience Class, and the Provincial Nominee Program.

Those who meet the eligibility requirements will be combined into a pool. From this pool, the federal government, the provincial governments, and different Canadian employers will take their pick of candidates to invite for immigration.

What is sure is that the highest-ranked candidates will then be invited to Canada. However, this process brings the element of subjectivity in the scenario.

Therefore, no matter how qualified an applicant is, he may not get the chance to immigrate to Canada if nobody picks him. Apart from this, other details are yet to be revealed in the future.

It is because of this that prospective applicants are encouraged to apply now while the current system is still in place. Nobody knows how much change the new program will undergo.

Other Posts OF Interests:

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *